Thursday, September 11, 2008

Holly Phillips sells novella to Asimov's, gets good reviews for novel

Holly Phillips has sold a novella, "The Long, Cold Goodbye" to Sheila Williams at Asimov's.

Her debut novel The Engine's Child (Del Rey) continues to garner excellent advance reviews as the clock ticks down to its release on November 25.

The Agony Column says, "Phillips writes with a purity of conviction that replaces the reader's world with her creation. And she tells one hell of a good story in the process. It's not all shadings and subtlety. Blood is spilled as the best-laid plans crash up against the novel's carefully crafted reality."

From Library Journal: "Richly complex...sharp-edged personalities and complicated personal relationships...[Phillips's] lush prose and dark fantasy cityscape will appeal to fans of China Mieville's Perdido Street Station and Sarah Monette's Melusine."

And from Kirkus: ""Poetic...some lovely passages that almost work as prose poems on their own. Phillips touches on contempory issues including the divide from the rich and the poor, religious intolerance and the dangers of overpopulation, but the book is not an allegory; it's a rush of images and emotions. A well-realized fantasy world...delightful prose."

No comments: