Wednesday, September 17, 2008

Maggie L. Wood sells short story to Coyote Wild

Maggie L. Wood has sold her first short story, "Fallen," to online magazine Coyote Wild for a special YA fantasy edition that was guest edited by Sherwood Smith and a panel of teen judges.

Thursday, September 11, 2008

Holly Phillips sells novella to Asimov's, gets good reviews for novel

Holly Phillips has sold a novella, "The Long, Cold Goodbye" to Sheila Williams at Asimov's.

Her debut novel The Engine's Child (Del Rey) continues to garner excellent advance reviews as the clock ticks down to its release on November 25.

The Agony Column says, "Phillips writes with a purity of conviction that replaces the reader's world with her creation. And she tells one hell of a good story in the process. It's not all shadings and subtlety. Blood is spilled as the best-laid plans crash up against the novel's carefully crafted reality."

From Library Journal: "Richly complex...sharp-edged personalities and complicated personal relationships...[Phillips's] lush prose and dark fantasy cityscape will appeal to fans of China Mieville's Perdido Street Station and Sarah Monette's Melusine."

And from Kirkus: ""Poetic...some lovely passages that almost work as prose poems on their own. Phillips touches on contempory issues including the divide from the rich and the poor, religious intolerance and the dangers of overpopulation, but the book is not an allegory; it's a rush of images and emotions. A well-realized fantasy world...delightful prose."

Friday, September 05, 2008

Brent Hayward's Filaria gets good reviews in Quill & Quire and Rue Morgue

Brent Hayward's Filaria (ChiZine Publications) has received good reviews in Quill & Quire and in Rue Morgue.

From Quill & Quire:

"Filaria is a great read, crackling with invention, energy, and suspense. For both ChiZine and Hayward, it’s an auspicious start."

From Rue Morgue:

"What makes Filaria so compelling is Hayward's innovative narrative structure, which effortlessly shifts between the interlocking journeys of four main characters... [T]he heady ideas are brought to life by an increasingly creepy story of artificial intelligence gone very bad, entire ecosystems of mutated creatures both organic and robotic, and a cast of all-too-human characters as frightened and curious as the reader."

Tuesday, September 02, 2008

Book signing for Simon Rose in Calgary, Sept. 6 and 11

Simon Rose will be at Chapters Dalhousie on Saturday, September 6 from 11 am to 5 pm and at Coles Books in TD Square on Thursday, September 11 from 11 am to 2 pm.

Interview with Janine Cross in literatur-community

Janine Cross was interviewed in July 2008 for literatur-community. Fortunately for us, the interview is in English and not German.

The interview might have been a result from Random House Germany buying the rights to her Dragon Temple Trilogy.