Monday, May 23, 2005

Prix Aurora Awards nominees (so far) include several SF Canada members

The Prix Aurora Awards finalists in the English pro categories have been announced, and include work by several SF Canada members. (French finalists will presumably be forthcoming very soon...)

Three members' books are among the finalists in the Best Long-Form Work in English category: Fallen Angel by Stephanie Bedwell-Grime (Telos Publishing), Black Brillion by Matthew Hughes (Tor) and The Alchemist's Daughter by Eileen Kernaghan (Thistledown Press). The remaining finalists are Survival by Julie E. Czerneda (DAW Books), Radiant by James Alan Gardner (Eos HarperCollins) and Wolf Pack by Edo van Belkom (Tundra Books)

Four works by members are among the finalists in the Best Short-Form Work in English category: "The Smile on the Face" by Nalo Hopkinson (Girls Who Bite Back: Witches, Mutants, Slayers and Freaks, Sumach Press); "Enlightenment" (Interzone 194, Sept.-Oct./2004) and "Jigsaw" (Odyssey, Trifolium Books), both by Douglas Smith, and "The Luck of Willie Lumen" by Hayden Trenholm (Neo-opsis Science Fiction Magazine #3). The other finalists in that category are "The Forgotten Ones" by Karin Lowachee (So Long Been Dreaming: Postcolonial Science Fiction and Fantasy, Arsenal Pulp Press) , "Mikeys" by Robert J. Sawyer (Space Stations, DAW) , and "When the Morning Stars Sang Together" by Isaac Szpindel (ReVisions, DAW) .

In the Best Work in English (Other) category, Nalo Hopkinson (with Uppinder Mehan) is a finalist for editing So Long Been Dreaming: Postcolonial Science Fiction & Fantasy (Arsenal Pulp Press), and so is Neo-opsis Science Fiction Magazine, edited by Karl Johanson. The other finalists are Julie E. Czerneda and Isaac Szpindel for editing ReVisions (DAW Books), Odyssey: Tales From the Wonder Zone, edited by Julie E. Czerneda (Trifolium Books), and Relativity: Essays and Stories, by Robert J. Sawyer (ISFiC Press, Nov/2004).

Finally, in the Artistic Achievement category, the finalists include Stephanie Ann Johanson. Other finalists are Lar deSouza, Jean-Pierre Normand, Martin Springett and Ronn Sutton.

No comments: