Tuesday, September 07, 2004

Nalo Hopkinson wins Gaylactic Spectrum Award

Nalo Hopkinson's novel The Salt Roads (Warner) has won the 2003 Gaylactic Spectrum Award for the best science fiction, fantasy or horror novel originally released in North America during 2003 with significant positive gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender content.

The Salt Roads beat out a long list of finalists: Elf Child by David M Pierce (Southern Tier), Faked to Death by Dean James (Kensington), From the Ashes by Meghan Brunner (1stbooks), Hidden Warrior by Lynn Flewelling (Bantam), Humans and Hybrids by Robert J. Sawyer (Tor), Icehole by Kiera Dellacroix (Fortitude Press), Lords of Rainbow by Vera Nazarian (Wildside), Lust by Geoff Ryman (St. Martin's), The Magister by Sally Miller Gearhart (Spinsters Ink), Manners and Means by Julia Talbot (Torquere Press), Moonsword by Diana Hignutt (AmErica House), The Other Side Of Love by Carole Lenzy Daniel (1stbooks), Perfect Hope by S Hardy Brondos (Wayward), Perfect Trust by S Hardy Brondos (Wayward), The Red Line of Yarmald by Diana Rivers (Bella), The Sorcerer's Web by T P Macer (Wayward), Spin State by Chris Moriarty (Bantam Dell), Storyteller by Amy Thomson (Ace), The Substance of God by Perry Brass (Belhue), Trickster by Steven Harper (Roc), Tritcheon Hash by Sue Lange (Metropolis Ink), Troll: A Love Story by Johanna Sinisalo (Grove), Turning The Storm by Naomi Kritzer (Bantam), Vampire Thrall by Michael Schiefelbein (Alyson) and The Wrong Trail Knife by Jane Fletcher (Fortitude Press).

No comments: